The Shadow Whose Prey the Hunter Becomes

    19/05  | 20:00 - 21:00
    20/05  | 20:00 - 21:00
    21/05  | 16:00 - 17:00
    22/05  | 20:00 - 21:00

€ 20 / €16
English, Mandarin → NL, FR, EN

How do we come together to take decisions in the interest of our society? Five activists with intellectual disabilities organize a public meeting. Their goal: a frank and open discussion about a history we would prefer to ignore and a future that is rapidly getting out of hand. Fearless and strikingly fresh, Australia’s leading theatre company returns to Brussels for the second time with their latest creation, The Shadow Whose Prey the Hunter Becomes. The ethics of mass food production, human rights and the social impact of automation are skilfully woven into a compelling story that explores the unstable foundations on which contemporary society is built. The actors question the parameters of traditional theatre and their own perceived limitations, challenging contemporary assumptions about AI and the human mind. The result is a theatrical revelation inspired by (human) errors, misreadings and misrepresentations: an inexorable reminder that no one is self-sufficient and that we are all responsible.

Confronted with the SARS-CoV-2 crisis, we had to cancel this project

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts-Les Halles de Schaerbeek

Authors: Mark Deans, Michael Chan, Bruce Gladwin, Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring, Scott Price, Sonia Teuben

Composition: Luke Howard Trio — Daniel Farrugia, Luke Howard, Jonathon Zion
Performers: Michael Chan, Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring, Scott Price
Director: Bruce Gladwin
Screen Design: Rhian Hinkley, lowercase
Lighting Design: Andrew Livingston, bluebottle
Sound Design: Lachlan Carrick
Script Consultant: Melissa Reeves
Costume Design: Shio Otani
Translation: Jennifer Ma
Stage Manager: Alana Hoggart
Sound Engineer: Thomas Campbell
Production Manager: Bao Ngouansavanh
Creative Development: Michael Chan, Mark Cuthbertson, Mark Deans, Rhian
Hinkley, Bruce Gladwin, Simon Laherty, Pippin Latham, Andrew Livingston, Sarah Mainwaring, Victoria Marshall, Scott Price, Brian Tilley, Sonia Teuben
Producers: Alison Harvey, Tanya Bennett
Executive Producer: Alice Nash

Back to top